Despite the Twin Lakes Area being well above average for year-to-date rainfall, the Arkansas Forestry Commission has placed six area counties under a moderate wildfire danger. Baxter, Marion, Fulton, Izard, Searcy and Stone are among 23 of the state’s 75 counties listed in the moderate classification.

Anyone looking to conduct a controlled burn in a county under a moderate wildfire danger needs to be mindful of wind speeds and low humidity. Arkansans can also check the status of wildfire dangers and burn bans throughout the state by going online to